Aviva Investors and ABN AMRO invest €100m in Dutch recycled concrete supplier SL Materials
The round runs through Aviva Investors' Climate Transition European Infrastructure Fund and ABN AMRO's Sustainable Impact Fund, and the announcement does not disclose how the capital divides between them.
At a glance
The round runs through Aviva Investors' Climate Transition European Infrastructure Fund and ABN AMRO's Sustainable Impact Fund, and the announcement does not disclose how the capital divides between them.
Aviva Investors and ABN AMRO have invested €100 million, about $112 million, in SL Materials, a Netherlands-based supplier of recycled concrete ingredients, the company announced on October 7.
Cement, an ingredient in concrete, accounts for roughly 8% of global carbon dioxide emissions, with more than 900 kilograms of CO2 generated for every 1,000 kilograms produced, according to ESG Today's report on the round.
Aviva Investors and ABN AMRO have invested €100 million, about $112 million, in SL Materials, a Netherlands-based supplier of recycled concrete ingredients, the company announced on October 7. The capital runs through Aviva Investors' Climate Transition European Infrastructure Fund and ABN AMRO's Sustainable Impact Fund, and SL Materials says it will pay for expansion of its existing operations in Zaandam, additional production capacity at new sites, and further technology development. No public or development-finance anchor appears in the announcement.
Founded in 2019 and formerly called Urban Mine, SL Materials recovers sand, gravel and cement from high-value concrete taken out of demolition projects and refines those materials to match the technical quality of primary ones; the proposition rests on the processing step—the feedstock is already in circulation, and the technology is presented as having been proven at industrial scale, turning demolition concrete into high-quality material for new concrete without compromising technical performance. The company says its product meets the strength, durability and certification requirements of conventional concrete and delivers significant reductions in embodied carbon by comparison.
Cement, an ingredient in concrete, accounts for roughly 8% of global carbon dioxide emissions, with more than 900 kilograms of CO2 generated for every 1,000 kilograms produced, according to ESG Today's report on the round. On those figures the value in the feedstock sits in the cement fraction, which carries the emissions, and recovering it alongside sand and gravel is the basis on which the output is presented as low-carbon rather than simply recycled. Whether that displacement can be sold at a price conventional concrete already clears is the question the round is underwriting.
Aviva Investors' head of infrastructure equity, Angenika Kunne, put the case in commercial rather than environmental terms, describing a company with a proven record of operating at commercial scale, a compelling opportunity for further growth, and near-term expansion of production capacity and new sites as the reason. The operative claim is that the product can compete with conventional concrete on performance and on economics, because the second half of that sentence is the harder one to underwrite: a recycled input that undercuts quarry product needs no policy support, and one that does not need either a customer willing to pay the difference or a mechanism that closes the gap.
From climate equities to climate infrastructure
Aviva Investors has been building its climate franchise on more than one track: in September the firm created a sustainable equities seat and installed a portfolio manager over its Global Climate Equity Strategy, giving its listed climate range a named leader. This week's announcement is a different instrument doing a different job: an infrastructure fund writing a cheque into a company whose stated use of proceeds is plant expansion, new sites and technology development.
The two backers are not the same kind of institution: Aviva Investors is an asset manager deploying a named climate infrastructure fund, while ABN AMRO is a bank putting its own sustainable impact vehicle to work. The announcement presents them as a single round and says nothing about how the capital divides between them, which leaves the size of either ticket undisclosed. It also notes that the transaction was supported by Kingsley Capital, without saying how large that contribution was or what form it took, and valuation and terms do not appear at all.
Who anchors a transition vehicle matters as much as the technology it finances, and that is where this round leaves the most open. In September, ESG Capital Daily covered BlueOrchard's $250 million close, a vehicle built around Solvency UK eligibility in which a development bank paid for the regulatory mapping before any capital was called. The SL Materials round names no public or development-finance anchor, placing it on the other side of a familiar pattern: public money absorbing the early-stage risk, private money arriving behind it.
Public balance sheets have been absorbing early-stage risk on transition supply chains that private capital has avoided, with private lenders arriving once a public anchor is in place. The SL Materials round finances a company that already describes itself as operating at commercial scale, and it marks where that boundary falls: once performance is proven and the customers exist, an insurer's infrastructure fund and a bank's impact fund can carry the ticket without a guarantee, and the open questions become price, capacity and site count rather than whether the product works.
Alongside the capital, SL Materials named James Cousins as chief executive and Steve Millburn as chief operating officer, though the announcement does not say what prompted the additions, and the coverage gives neither man's prior role nor whether the seats were newly created.
Valuation, revenue and tonnage do not appear in the announcement, and capacity is the figure that would let an outside reader size the ambition. The use-of-proceeds language is specific about geography—Zaandam plus new sites—and silent on output. Until the company publishes volumes for the new plants, the test is whether the round funds an expansion of a working business or the beginnings of an industrial platform, which is how the company's own statement frames the goal.
Save this analysis and keep the funds you follow together in My Desk.
Sign in to save articles or follow funds.